the blog of Seldom Seen Photography

Quick Shot

Mount Baker

At last the rain hit today, ending perhaps the longest dry spell in western Washington history. Luckily, I spent the last day of the dry weather (yesterday) up at Mount Baker in the Heather Meadows area. The fall colors were fantastic. Tomorrow, in the morning,  I’m heading off to eastern Washington for the weekend to go to a football game. I wanted to leave you with a blog post before I go, so here’s a quick shot I took yesterday. This is Mount Baker, as seen from Artist Point. More from my trip up to Heather Meadows later.

6 responses

  1. Stunning, nicely done.

    October 13, 2012 at 5:05 am

  2. Amazing photo! Love the colors, Fall is such a wonderful time 🙂
    I was just reading a book that talked about some of the history of the Oregon and Washington fires, surprised a little bit to hear how crazy they can get, but a lot of it has to do with the rain amount and the river dams.

    October 13, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    • I love the fall colors, but sometimes they are hard to find. The Baker region really put on a show this year. And yes, the fires were bad this year, largely, I believe, because of the unusual lack of rain. However, we have them every year and they really make the air quality bad. A lot of people like the sunset colors the smoke gives, but I’m not a fan of it.

      October 14, 2012 at 5:58 pm

  3. Absolutely gorgeous shot! Thank you for sharing. One of my most favorite places in the world.

    October 13, 2012 at 7:32 pm

  4. Pingback: Fall’s Come and Gone at Heather Meadows « joebeckerphoto

Leave a Reply

