the blog of Seldom Seen Photography

5 Years Ago – Pinnacles National Monument (no make that Park)

Pinnacle PoppiesFor various reasons I haven’t picked up my camera in about six weeks and it is driving me crazy. David duChemin recently wrote a blog post about tending the fire that really spoke to me and I promised myself I’d get out this weekend. But life got in the way. My son Brooks, and otherwise healthy 26-year old, had his lung partially collapse without an apparent reason on Thursday and is now in the hospital. He may get out tomorrow (we hope). With this, Tanya and I have been spending a lot of time driving back and forth to Seattle to visit Brooks in the hospital. So, no photography this weekend.

So instead, since it has also been a few weeks since I posted, I give you some shots from five years ago this month, when Tanya and I drove to San Diego to see daughter Janelle when she was going to university. Along the way we stopped for a couple of hours at Pinnacles National Monument, which in 2013 became a National Park. I don’t imagine much changed when it gained park status, except perhaps more visitors. When we were there in 2010, it was rather out-of-the-way and quiet. I hope it still is. I’d like to get back some day and spend more time exploring. When we were there in 2010, the wildflowers were blooming. Spring is such a wonderful time of year. Enjoy these shots from Pinnacles National Monument Park.

Pinnacle LupinePinnacle Poppies and Lupine

11 responses

  1. Reblogged this on charles2rs97.

    April 4, 2015 at 3:07 pm

  2. beautiful

    April 4, 2015 at 8:37 pm

  3. I love the first photo!!

    April 5, 2015 at 1:40 am

  4. Beautiful, love the first one from the low angle.

    April 5, 2015 at 5:24 am

  5. thenerdycanuck

    Lovely, awesome shot and angle šŸ™‚

    April 5, 2015 at 9:28 am

  6. The first photo in particular is amazing. Thanks for sharing.

    April 5, 2015 at 2:02 pm

  7. Hope your son will be OK!

    April 9, 2015 at 9:09 am

    • Thank you. He is doing well now, but is still in the hospital. As it turned out, he did not get out soon after I posted, but rather ended up having surgery last Tuesday. Now it appears he will be getting out on Saturday.

      April 9, 2015 at 12:11 pm

  8. magic!

    April 29, 2015 at 5:34 am

  9. I like the PoV in the first shot and the mellow yellow. I hope that your son is well now.

    May 8, 2015 at 1:17 am

    • Thank you. Yes, he is doing much better now, though still a little sore, he’s back to work.

      May 8, 2015 at 8:43 am

Leave a Reply

