the blog of Seldom Seen Photography

This One’s for Mark

Milky Way over Kayostia BeachLast week I made a 6-day backpacking trip along the beach in Olympic National Park. More on the trip later. For now I want to just present one image. This is a nightscape I made near my camp at the Norwegian Memorial last Thursday night.

My friend and fellow photographer, Mark Cole, who ventured with me recently to Palouse Falls, also made arrangements to go to the Olympic coast (without my knowledge of his trip, and him without knowledge of my trip) with the expressed intent of doing night photography. As it turned out, we camped about 1/4 mile apart on Tuesday night near the Ozette River, me on the north side and he on the south side. Tuesday night was cloudy. We met up on the wilderness beach on Wednesday morning, and hiked together for a while, and he confirmed he did not get any shots Tuesday night. After awhile, he headed back to his camp and I kept going.

Mark planned to stay Wednesday night at his camp near the Ozette River. I have yet to talk with him, and I don’t know if he made any decent night shots – but it was again cloudy were I was camped.

Then came Thursday. Mark stated he was only out for two nights, so it is probable he missed this. The Milky Way in all its splendor on Thursday night. So this one’s for Mark. Better luck next time!

Technical details – 30-second exposure, ISO 6400, f4, 17mm on a 17-40mm zoom. Light painting done with a headlamp with a Roscoe diffuser and an orange gel.

14 responses

  1. So beautiful.

    July 20, 2015 at 8:18 pm

  2. Wow, magnificent.

    July 20, 2015 at 8:46 pm

  3. This is a beauty, Joe. Excellent light painting, too.

    July 20, 2015 at 10:40 pm

  4. That’s an enchanting night!

    July 20, 2015 at 10:48 pm

  5. Your patience really paid off big time Joe. Very head’s up using the headlamp with diffuser and gel!

    July 20, 2015 at 11:12 pm

    • Thanks Ernie. I learned about using a diffuser from Royce Bair (when he came to talk to the Mountaineers in Tacoma earlier this year, and from his ebook). Also, most headlamps these days use LED bulbs, which give a very blue light. I thought the orange gel would help, and the color turned out much better than I had even hoped.

      July 21, 2015 at 9:03 am

  6. Wow! It is an absolut magic one…love this photo!

    July 21, 2015 at 1:11 am

  7. Prismartic

    Fantastic photo.

    July 21, 2015 at 3:08 am

  8. WOW!!! I haven’t seen the Milky Way in a long time.

    July 21, 2015 at 4:13 am

  9. That is just beautiful!!!! I haven’t seen a night sky in so long since it’s blocked by light pollution. Time to get out into the woods. Thanks for the inspiration

    July 22, 2015 at 9:03 am

  10. Sort of puts everything into perspective.

    July 22, 2015 at 6:30 pm

  11. This is absolutely beautiful… you are so incredibly talented!!

    July 23, 2015 at 7:38 pm

  12. Pingback: North Olympic Wilderness Coast – a Guide (Part 1) | joebeckerphoto

Leave a Reply

