the blog of Seldom Seen Photography

Autumn in the Oregon Cascades

On my trip several weeks ago, besides visiting Silver Falls State Park, I drove through some of the Oregon Cascades. It was, perhaps, not the height of autumn color in the Cascade Mountains, but it was close. Prime time may have been last week, or maybe this one. Regardless, now is the time to be out there; the mountains in Oregon, and here in Washington, only surrender some of their green for a short time each year.

I hoped I’d have more time to write a post about the Oregon Cascades, but unfortunately I don’t. I will say they do seem more accessible than the Washington Cascades, with more and better access roads. After just  a couple of days there this fall, I know I’d like to go back for at least a week, if not longer. So with that, I’ll just post a few images I captured in the mountains (and one in the Columbia Gorge, as well), and let the images speak for themselves about autumn in the Oregon Cascades.

Santiam River at Niagara

The Santiam River at Niagara

Niagara Pool

Swirling pool in the Santiam River below Niagara

Along the upper Clackamas River (the featured image above is also on the Clackamas).

Along the upper Clackamas River (the featured image above is also on the Clackamas).

Color along the Breitenbush River - I was a bit early, that green tree leaning over the river is probably yellow by now.

Color along the Breitenbush River – I was a bit early, that green tree leaning over the river is probably yellow by now.

Reflections in the Breitenbush River

Reflections in the Breitenbush River

Koosah Falls on the McKensie River

Koosah Falls on the McKensie River

Sahalie Falls on the McKensie River

Sahalie Falls on the McKensie River

Horsetail Falls in the Columbia Gorge - the maple trees here were still mostly green when I was there, though there were some colorful leaves in the water.

Horsetail Falls in the Columbia Gorge – the maple trees here were still mostly green when I was there, though there were some colorful leaves in the water.

The Three Sisters reflected in Scott Lake

The Three Sisters reflected in Scott Lake

14 responses

  1. You came away with some gorgeous images there Joe. Thanks so much for the head’s up and info on these amazing OR sites!

    October 25, 2015 at 9:25 pm

    • Thanks Ernie. These places are not that far away. I found the drive down there shorter than I expected. I’ll need to explore more in the future.

      October 26, 2015 at 12:03 pm

  2. lovely photos!

    October 26, 2015 at 1:42 am

  3. That Sahalie Falls and the Three Sisters lake shots are just superb.

    October 26, 2015 at 7:19 am

  4. Woooow those are some great photos. I would be interested on the settings and gear used to get the foggy waterfall effect. I just bought a variable neutral density filter and am still playing around with it.

    October 28, 2015 at 9:16 pm

    • There is no special trick to getting the foggy waterfall shot except to have the fog there and the sunlight shining through it. Generally on waterfall shots, I like the “silky” look of the water and use shutter speeds between 1/2 and 2 seconds. I also typically use a polarizer as well. With small apertures and the polarizer, I rarely have to resort to a neutral density filter to get a shutter speed in the range I want.

      October 29, 2015 at 7:57 am

  5. Oh my goodness these pics make me feel so alive !!

    October 29, 2015 at 12:43 pm

    • Thank you! What a great compliment!

      October 29, 2015 at 1:09 pm

  6. Dakota Terry

    Amazing stuff. As an amateur photographer, is there anything you would suggest?

    November 1, 2015 at 8:21 pm

    • Wow, that is a big question. I could probably write several blog posts, if not a while book of suggestions. But fur now I will say 1) know your camera and don’t use auto exposure mode, 2) learn the “rules” of basic composition and then break them, and 3) practice, and then practice some more.

      November 1, 2015 at 10:09 pm

      • Dakota Terry

        Thank you very much for your reply, I always appreciate learning from others, especially those who are smarter than me. I learned pretty quickly about the exposure settings on my camera, but composition is something I will have to look into. I’d appreciate it if you would look over my posts, just the featured photos if you are ever bored.

        November 1, 2015 at 10:25 pm

      • Where can I find you blog?

        November 12, 2015 at 1:19 pm

      • Dakota Terry

        realifenow.wordpress.com

        November 14, 2015 at 9:56 am

Leave a Reply

